Well we’re just a couple days from our first day of school. The Preschool and Kindergarten classes have been postponed because of flu worries, but it seems like everyone else will start on schedule. Meanwhile, I’m starting my list of things I see every day in Kuwait that you don’t usually see in the US, in no particular order:

-Someone always willing to carry your groceries, help you take stuff into a building or give you a ride when you’re stuck in Hawalli 🙂

-Green florescent-lighted religious buildings (ours is a mosque)

-Maids and cooks that are really excited to get your business for next to nothing

-Really big doors and door handles that are way too high for me

-A switch for our water heater, I think it is off right now? The light switches are also pretty cool looking

-A bunch of marble in our apartment

-No handicapped access, seriously, none

-“Kuwait Blinds Association” — unfortunately this sign was taken down the second week we were here and I don’t think we have a picture of it, I like assuming it was the Venetian Blinds Association

There are a bunch more, humorous and cool. I’ll keep it going. Thanks for reading!

